Author Topic: Audax Mk3 brakes and pannier rack attachments  (Read 7113 times)

jrclimber

Audax Mk3 brakes and pannier rack attachments
« on: July 18, 2014, 07:13:41 pm »
I built up an Audax Mk3 18m ago and have had some great day rides and sportives. I now want to take it to Spain touring. The pull arm of the Tektro R539 long drop brakes that I fitted (used with Campag Athena levers) is right next to the pannier rack attachment on the R seat stay. The only way I can attach it is using a long bolt and multiple washers which is ugly and I don't feel is very secure. Can anyone recommend any brakes with different geometry that would get round this problem?

Many thanks, John

jags

Re: Audax Mk3 brakes and pannier rack attachments
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 08:14:50 pm »
photo please i think i hah the same issue. :-\

jrclimber

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 09:25:21 pm »
OK, being a newbie, I need some help here. I have photos, I can see a "insert image button" option but no idea how to get the photo off my computer into the message. The help files...err...aren't very helpful!

Andre Jute

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 09:50:25 pm »
Long answer: there are some instruction post by Danneaux the Mod that many swear by. Use the search function.

Short answer: reduce the photos to about a 100K each or 800 pixels in the longest dimension, put them on your desktop, drag them into your message. It's that easy.

jrclimber

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2014, 10:42:01 pm »
Thanks Andre. Couldn't get the drag and drop to work so found the post you referred to and photos now attached

triaesthete

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2014, 11:21:42 pm »

Why not mount the rack tie bars to the inside faces of the bosses?

Ian

leftpoole

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2014, 09:45:58 am »
Why not mount the rack tie bars to the inside faces of the bosses?

Ian

Not possible on Thorn Audax. The rack mount issue has been raised before.
Racks will fit easily if using Shimano deep drop brakes.