Author Topic: Asking for Feedback about my bike lock invention  (Read 4570 times)

BickeyLover

Asking for Feedback about my bike lock invention
« on: June 19, 2014, 10:37:50 pm »
Hey guys, my name's Liang I'm a college student and cyclist at USC. I've had three bikes stolen while at USC and it really pissed me off so now I'm doing something about it.

I've created a lock that specifically secures the wheels of a bike. It works by replacing the hex nuts or quick release skewers holding a bike in place. It's designed so none of the common theft tools (i.e. wrenches, vice grips, bolt cutters, flamethrowers, that laser gun from Goldeneye, etc.) can get through it or get any leverage on it.

The nut can only be tightened / loosened with the specific wrench that comes in each package. There are multiple variations of these nut:wrench combinations.

I'd love to get some feedback from you guys on the product, whether or not you'd use it, and any advice you have (from business/marketing ideas to product improvements).

Cheers,
-Liang

JimK

• Interdependent Science
Re: Asking for Feedback about my bike lock invention
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 11:14:36 pm »
There are several products like this on the market already. You might be able to improve enough on them to win a place alongside them or who knows, you might knock them out! But anyway you need to study them and understand the differences.

e.g. pitlocks http://www.pitlock.com/

sd

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2014, 09:50:17 am »
  Nice one but do they regularly only steal wheels? If you remembered to carry the spanner with you there would be no down side. Wouldn't the scum bags at least the more professional ones buy the spanner?  Either way you are bound to reduce the risk if not guarantee it.

onrbikes

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2014, 09:20:22 am »
Although it looks cool and see a fair bit of work went into it the spanner may be a bit heavy.