Author Topic: V-brake problems on Sherpa build  (Read 3782 times)

hutzelbein

V-brake problems on Sherpa build
« on: March 10, 2010, 01:23:13 pm »
Hi,

I recently bought a Sherpa frame and built it up myself. I'm still learning (it was my first complete build), and was wondering if somebody could help me find out what I did wrong with the v-brake installation. Since they were highly recommended by Thorn, I bought XTR v-brakes, but I used Deore v-brakes for a couple of days and had the same problem: the brake arm alignment looks like this: \ / instead of this: I I

I simply can't get the arms parallel; instead of the recommended 4 cm inner cable showing above the arms, there are about 8 cm showing. I already exchanged the washers on the brake shoes (KoolStop Supra 2 salmon), so that the thinner washer is between brake arm and rim - but this didn't fix the angle.

Pictures can be seen here: http://picasaweb.google.com/hutzelbein/VBrakes#

What could be the problem? The Sherpa fork and frame should accept v-brakes. How much can you do wrong when installing v-brakes?

Thanks!

geocycle

Re: V-brake problems on Sherpa build
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2010, 01:56:53 pm »
They do look odd, but I use Avid not Shimano so I cannot say for certain.  Have you checked that the locator pin on the arm is inserted into the correct frame hole (usually the central one).  If not then you would not be able to pull the arms together with the cable????

hutzelbein

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2010, 02:04:29 pm »
Yes; it doesn't matter which of the 3 frame holes I use. This only changes the tension, not the angle. The problem is, that the brake pads hit the rim a long time before the arms would be parallel. Somebody suggested that the fork might not be built for v-brakes, but since Thorn sell the built up bike with v-brakes, I assume that this is not the problem.

mikerr

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2010, 02:31:59 pm »
Hi,