Author Topic: Routine / annual servicing  (Read 2190 times)

wal

Routine / annual servicing
« on: December 10, 2007, 06:12:00 pm »
Hi everyone and apologies in advance if the answer to this question appears fairly obvious, but not being a bicycle mechanic I am always a little uncertain what work needs to be done to ensure that my Thorn RST stays in good nick.

Could anyone confirm, in laymans terms, what would be a sensible servicing regime for my RST which I use daily on a 15 mile commute and at weekends and touring from time to time. The bike is now 12 months old and I have undertaken the Rohloff oil change, but need to know what I need to have serviced on the rest of the bike.

Assuming that the work cannot be easily done myself, would any competent bike shop be able to carry out this work? Many shops offer a 'full service' and I am never quite certain whether this will cover all the items I need.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

stutho

• Administrator
Re: Routine / annual servicing
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2007, 01:06:31 am »
Hi Wal,

By happy coincidence I too own a RST and do a  15 Mile round commute (or did up until last week, when I changed jobs, but that a different story).   You will be racking up about 4000 miles a year so there are some things that WILL need to be looked at every so often.  The problem is any maintained schedule is dependant on the quality of the components that you specified on your RST and also the conditions that you ride through. So below I have listed MY maintenance not yours! 

First the MOST important thing to keep any bike in good condition is to clean it!!!  When you are cleaning a bike you find all those little 'issues' that need to be sorted.

Brake blocks - I get about a year of use from my Cool stop salmon pads - others get very different mileage
Rims - VERY IMPORTANT - If you haven't got ceramic rims then you need to be checking these carefully after the 2nd year.