Author Topic: Nomad Exp renovation  (Read 1978 times)

samuelellis

Nomad Exp renovation
« on: September 29, 2023, 03:01:00 am »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the cult having just purchased an old. Nomad Exp which I haven't even laid hands on it as yet having purchased it unseen off Gumtree. It looks a little tired but there's a reasonable amount /some money available for a renovation. I wondered if anyone had any tips as to what to do? I'm already assuming that I'm going to need a couple of new chainrings / chain / cassette; and I'll obviously look at the headset bearings and BB (the wheels again I'll have to assess on arrival - how desirable is a dynamo?).

Any thoughts very much appreciated.

PH

Re: Nomad Exp renovation
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2023, 10:21:37 am »
Congratulations and welcome, look forward to the photos. The EXP was always a bit special, I think they were always UK hand built frames.  The full on expedition model, do you have an intended purpose for it?
For me, when I buy a secondhand bike, I try and spend as little as possible to get it usable for a few hundred miles.  Not only am I then sure the bike suits me before spending money I'll never get back, but also I'll know if there's any changes to make when I do start upgrading.
Dynamo, I assume you mean hub dynamo? Depends what use you have for it, nothing beats the convenience of having lights whenever you need them, but if that need is always predictable it's easily satisfied with battery lights. The cost is also dependent on whether you need a new wheel, it's quite a chunk if you don't, but a much more reasonable upgrade if you do.
Have fun.

mickeg

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2023, 11:55:55 am »
The best bike for you is the bike that fits the best.