Author Topic: Rohloff Seal Drag is Good and Wanted!  (Read 2251 times)

Andre Jute

Rohloff Seal Drag is Good and Wanted!
« on: September 20, 2022, 12:18:44 am »
Seal drag, or even more generically "hub drag", turning the cranks when a Rohloff-equipped bike is pushed is a common complaint on Rohloff fora, often under a presumption that it is an undesirable activity, or even indicative of a threat to an expensive component. Hey, that was my first response too when I was a Rohloff novice, before I thought the matter through.

But is it? I now take a different view. To me it is obviously indicative of high quality German engineering which thoughtfully took the decision to keep out dust by lightweight paper seals. There are also practical uses for this seal drag, to which I shall return.

There are standard setups to measure bearing drag, for instance a dynamometer can compare the friction loss in internal combustion engines which theoretically should put out the same shaft horses or BMEP or whatever measure turns up your wick -- but by the time you get the motor in a car on a track, that considerable amount of work by an expensive white-coat and capital-intensive equipment normally turns out to be wasted because poof! the differences disappear into more urgent feedbacks. And that is starting with big numbers, where a difference could easily be a whole unit or units even if it is a fraction of a percent. Anyway, in automobile racing or commercial consumer car development, you can't afford not to know, so you must do the work even if only to prove to second-guessers that you considered all possibilities.