Author Topic: Cycling Computers/GPS Navigation  (Read 2423 times)

Rouleur834

Cycling Computers/GPS Navigation
« on: April 22, 2021, 12:08:11 pm »
Hello all

Newbie here. Expecting delivery of my new Thorn in May and wondering what, if anything, people do about cycling computers and or GPS navigation. Basically, all my kit and mounts work on 31.8mm bars. I've found various shims and mounts for smaller bars but not the 22.2mm I'm expecting to be on my new bike.

Any and all advice appreciated.

Ray

JohnR

Re: Cycling Computers/GPS Navigation
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 02:39:52 pm »
Usually the computer mount is fixed close to the stem clamp where the diameter is either 25.4mm or 31.8mm. There are also mounts which fit onto the ahead stem.

Aleman

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 02:43:41 pm »
Both of the bars (FFT and Comfort) on our Raven Twin have 31.8mm Centre Swells, and there is plenty of space to mount a Garmin using the normal Garmin Mount. ... My K-Edge out front mount will also fit ...

I actually use a Faceplate out front mount on the Raven Similar to this one from JRC Components Except that mine is tiltable. ... From eBay IIRC

JohnR

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2021, 09:54:05 pm »
I've just spotted this 22.2mm mount in Wiggle Outlet https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/164827125827 so they do exist, if needed.

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2021, 11:58:46 pm »
My preferred GPS(s) are Garmin 400T and 600T units which also work nicely for off-bike hikes and such -- both loaded with Open Street Maps. Despite a GUI that seems weird and awkward to me. I like the dedicated GPSs for their ruggedness, waterproofness, and water resistance and have backup navigation apps and maps for my phone, which I try to reserve primarily for comms and photography when I'm riding; when in lodging or have a fully charged power bank, the phone becomes my laptop substitute.