Author Topic: Handlebar Palsy  (Read 4558 times)

Swislon

Handlebar Palsy
« on: November 03, 2014, 01:45:50 pm »
I have been having problems with my hands aching for a couple of years now.
Just having had 5/6 weeks off (with hands feeling fine) the bike I started riding again.
Almost immediately my hands started the familiar ache. Three rides later it is debilitating.
I have padded bars that are level or just above the seat height and have also had a bike fit.

Anyone else suffered this and what did you do about it?
I don't want to stop cycling but at the moment rest seems to be the only remedy.

Steve

fossala

Re: Handlebar Palsy
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 01:53:55 pm »
You tried Thorns comfort bars or Jones H-bar both are very comfortable. I guess you could also go pay for a bike fit to try and help.

honesty

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 02:17:40 pm »
From left field... a recumbent? Takes all pressure off the hand.

Otherwise, bar swaps and playing round with the sweep on the bars you have. I get really bad pins and needles and numbness in my left hand on one of my bikes, but nothing at all with the other. I can only put this down to the bar sweep and where the pressure is being applied on my hand as the distance from bar, height, ride position are as close as I can make them.

in4

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 02:19:40 pm »
There could be all sorts going on but, leaving aside any individual issues ( arthritis etc.)

Grips and grip position/rotation. Shape of grips too. Bars and all the variables associated with them.
As an illustration: I rotated my gp5s by a couple of degrees or so and the instant relief from numbness was a joy. Bikerta uses them too and she might have a view to share. Of course if you are using drops all this is completely irrelevant and you might have to wait for The Sage of Oregon for further advice/opinion.

lewis noble

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2014, 02:25:51 pm »
Hello Steve