Author Topic: How to "silver" (solder?) pre-cut shifter cables  (Read 6165 times)

revelo

How to "silver" (solder?) pre-cut shifter cables
« on: November 01, 2012, 02:30:28 am »
How exactly do you "silver" a shifter cable that has been pre-cut to the right length, like Andy Blance recommends in "Living with Rohloff" for spares for a long tour? I don't want to gunk the cable up with so much silver that it won't fit into the hole in the Rohloff Ex box pulley or won't work when inserted or who knows what. I'm assuming "silver" means solder, but I have no experience with any of this and I don't want to make a mess of things, so idiot-proof instructions would be appreciated.

The idea I have is to first pull the existing cables. Then insert a spare set of cables and cut them to the right length (200mm beyond the cable housing), retract these cables, silver them somehow (whatever that means), then store them away in my field repair kit in case I break cables in the field. Then install a new set of cables, cut these to the right length and otherwise follow the cable replacement instructions. Maybe do this several times so I get the procedure down right. In the future, anytime I replace housing (and thus possibly change the length slightly), be sure to make a new set of pre-cut and "silvered" spare shifter cables for the repair kit.

My original idea was to bring along the uncut cables (which apparently come with solder on the ends to stop fraying) and cut to the right length in a motel room with my Leatherman tool. What I discovered is that the Leatherman cannot cut shifter cables cleanly. In fact, it can barely cut them at all. It mostly just mangles them. Cable cutters intended for shifter cables, by contrast, cut the cable without difficulty. No surprise, I'm sure, to those with more experience than me with bike repair. However, I don't want to bring along these cable cutters in my field repair kit.

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen