Author Topic: Please explain gear ratios to me  (Read 6036 times)

GeoffBroom

Please explain gear ratios to me
« on: February 12, 2007, 07:02:05 pm »
I understand the word ratio and I understand the word gear because I have a degree in both physics and Mathematics but I feel a fool when I see gear ratios written down.  How does a 22 tooth ring and a 34 tooth sprochet give a ratio of 16.8 ( I think on a 26 inch wheel) and a 44 ring and 11 sprocket give a ratio of 104 ?
Also what is a 100" gear ratio.  I always thought a ratio was dimensionless.  And where do percentages come in to the equation?

I really want to know so I can compare my bike with those I read about in articles.
Please help an old fool.

julk

Re: Please explain gear ratios to me
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2007, 07:39:01 pm »
The distance travelled by a chain driven fixed sprocket rear wheel for one revolution of the chain ring =
pi  x  wheel diameter  x  no. chain ring teeth  /  no. sprocket teeth.

The 'gear ratios' you give refer to a 26" wheel and leave pi out of the calculation.
The 'gear ratios' calculated in this way are useful to evaluate any combination of derailleur cogs you might want to try on your bike or to understand the gearing available from a hub gear system.

16.8" is a very low gear.

104" is quite a high gear.

I hope this helps.

Wild

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2007, 07:44:05 pm »
The way in which ratios are worked out is quite simple.  In most cases cyclists will however, talk in gear inches.

To work out the ratio simply divide the number of teeth selected on the front sprocket by the number of teeth being used on the rear sprocket.  So for example if you are riding on a front sprocket with 42 teeth, and are using a rear sprocket of say 15 teeth, then the ratio is 42 divided by 15 which would give a ratio of 2.8