Author Topic: Disturbing noise...  (Read 3364 times)

Cake

Disturbing noise...
« on: June 03, 2008, 11:31:57 am »
I was out for a ride last week and stopped for a moment to munch down a flapjack.  When i started riding again there was immediately a horrible crunching, two gears trying to engage at once type of noise which was also was very clearly felt through the pedals.  I changed gear a couple of times to make sure it was not a dodgy gear change on my behalf but it continued.

So i stopped and had a good look over the chain and sprockets just to make sure all was well and that it was coming from the hub, but that was all in order as i had cleaned the chain the previous day after  it got a good soaking in heavy rain.  So i had no choice but to head home very slowly.  The "crunching" for want of a better description occurred in every gear and wasn't a regular consistent thing.

Anyway, after a quarter of a mile or so it improved bit by bit and after a mile or so had completely disappeared.  To make sure of this i rode a further 15 miles with no problems at all.  Once home i gave it a thorough flushing and an oil change.  I filtered the drained oil and found a couple of minute (really minute!) particles of swarf (as i did after the first oil change, which seemed to stop a very infrequent slip).  After the oil change the hub is yet again a bit smoother and feels absolutely perfect (including some hard out of the saddle climbing type testing!). 

I decided to talk to SJS to see what their opinion was and it seems as though it probably was a piece of swarf causing gear selection to be affected briefly.  They suggested a flush and oil change, which i had already done.  They did of course say that if there was any future problem with the hub at all it would be dealt with immediately - top service and reassuring.