Author Topic: Kona Cowan Frame; Rohloff Compatible??  (Read 5790 times)

Beave

Kona Cowan Frame; Rohloff Compatible??
« on: February 01, 2007, 04:29:09 am »
I've been using my Rohloff on my full suspension bike for a couple years now. While everything has been excellent, I have been leaning towards a hard tail for my next bike. An added bonus to this change would be the removal of the all-to-derailleur-like chain tensioner.

But after browsing the Kona website today, I noticed they have the Cowan full suspension frame, with adjustable dropouts that would allow the fitting of Rohloff specific dropouts. The frame is said to be for either single or multi-speeds.

So my question for the geometry experts out there; Would this frame work with a Rohloff hub, Rohloff specific dropouts, and NO chain tensioner?? In this four bar linkage, would the chain grow or shrink as the swingarm moved through it's travel??

Check it out:

http://www.konaworld.com/FRAMES/2K7_COWAN_Frame_big.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help,

Beave

Dave Whittle Thorn Workshop

• Thorn Cycles
Re: Kona Cowan Frame; Rohloff Compatible??
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2007, 10:41:42 pm »
Its a non URT so you would need a chain tensioner, you would be best with a Rohloff speedbone as a torque arm, see the speedhub slector on Rohloff.de

Beave

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2007, 05:36:23 am »
Interesting,

I've spoken to a handful of folks about this, and it seems that I would not need a tensioner for this bike, as the pivot point is srrounding the bottom bracket, meaning the chain stays a consistant length throughout the travel of the swingarm; Looks like I've found my next bike!

Beave

bike_the_planet

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2007, 05:25:50 am »
quote:
Originally posted by Beave

Interesting,