Author Topic: How bright are dynamos?  (Read 9190 times)

Clive

How bright are dynamos?
« on: September 29, 2005, 09:55:49 pm »
I've been commuting using Lumicycle lights for a few years now. Although they are probably overkill for road use I have got used to their brightness. How will a dynamo compare? Which dynamo set-up should I use for commuting on country lanes with little or no cultural lighting?

graham

Re: How bright are dynamos?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2005, 08:52:38 pm »
We did the 'dun run' this year, using a Schmidt dynamo hub and Lumotec lamp with upgrade 3W bulb.

I thought the set up was adequate. Not as bright as the lads on their racers with Lumocycle's, but then they weren't using them all the time because the batteries would have been flat before they'd have finished. Well, we were riding from dusk to dawn with a food stop of about an hour in the middle.

Although supposedly carried out near a full moon, the weather was overcast so not much lunar illumination. We were obviously following other people's lights a lot of the time, which probably made a difference, but even so there was the odd bit on our own, under trees, at 30mph (I guess) downhill, where I was able to see enough to stay on the correct side of the road and not put the tandem into a hedge. So good enough. We took a spare bulb and didn't need it, of course. We even had one superfit lad draw alongside us and compliment us on the brightness of our headlight (before switching his Lumicycle on- and off again).

TonySmith

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 01:00:43 pm »
I find the single 2.4W B+M round headlamp gives enough light for about 20mph, more on roads I know well...but switch on the 2nd headlamp (3W E6) and I can go as fast as in daylight on a reasonably straight road and see details like mud, gravel & potholes. Only time I wish for anything better is on sharp bends where the narrow focus of the beam doesn't let me see around the corner.

acadvaphy

How bright are dynamos