Author Topic: Chain covers  (Read 5831 times)

il padrone

Chain covers
« on: April 14, 2012, 01:21:00 am »
I've had a reply from SJS to my query about using the Hebie Chainglider on the Rohloff. Whilst it has now been modified to suit Rohloff, they are still advising not to use it. Instead they are advocating the better option of using the Biologic FreeDrive Chain Wrap.

Does anyone have experience using this device, who could give some information on:

1. fitting it to a Thorn Nomad (47cm chainstays)
2. friction losses if any
3. lubrication, durability and the impacts of any water ingress.

Thanks very much.

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
Re: Chain covers
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 01:45:42 am »
Pete,

While I have no direct experience with this product, it appears nearly identical to a product that was available here in the States in the mid-late-1980s, and I did have experience installing that one on several friends' bikes.

It was a slotted tube much like the one shown, and it required super-gluing the overlapping ends together. The one you reference may attach differently, but the installed product looked the same. They came in the neon colors popular at the time, and it seemed all the ones sold as shop remainders were neon pink. Of course! For some reason, they seemed to end up on BMX bikes.

Here is what I recall about it:

1) It did a stellar job protecting the leading chain from dust, dirt, mud and water thrown up by the front wheel.

2) It did an equally wonderful job catching and holding rainwater when a bicycle was left parked outside on a rainy day, pretty much offsetting the benefits above. The lower run of chain sat in water all day, but most of it spun out on the first use, which also meant a lot of oily water was drained off as well.

3) It made wheel removal problematic in the extreme (glued joint; this one might be better).