Technical > General Technical

Ergon GC3 grips

(1/1)

geocycle:
I've been using Ergon grips on thorn comfort bars for 4 years and they have nearly worn out.  Has anyone used the newish GC3's with the long integrated bar ends?  I'm interested in how the bar ends function and how solid they are.  They seem to come in long and short sizes (both compatible with the rohloff shifter), my inclination is to go for long and cut down if needed (there seems to be an error somewhere in the sizes given on the SJS site).

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/product-Ergon-Ergon-GC3-Grips-Nexus-Rohloff-18269.htm

PH:
I put them on a new bike about a month ago.  Been used  for the 10 miles a day commute and a couple of 30ish mile rides.  No long rides or tours with them yet so final judgment is reserved.
However based on use so far I can only say they are the best bars I’ve ever used, straight, comfort, drop or butterfly.  The best by far, there’s so many usable positions,  5 or 6  without being creative.  The hollow fibreglass takes out more road buzz than any amount of rubber or padding, I’ve been riding over one rough stretch with one hand on the grips and the other on the bar ends, the difference is easily noticeable.  As I found when it was blowing a gale last week, the forward position allows you to tuck in while still feeling in control.
Couple of disadvantages, they do look like an early 90s throwback!  They scuff easily, if you’re in the habit of leaning your bike against anything handy you might want to look at how to protect them.
There seems to be a bit of confusion about the two sizes, it refers to the pad on the grips, as on other Ergon versions.  Not sure what you meant by “cutting down” it’s not an option.  Unless you mean the GR2?
I hope my opinion hasn’t changed after a decent tour.  Previous favourite flat bar grips were Ergons and Cane Creek rubber bar ends, I think these are far better.

rafiki:
From the SJS site:

--- Quote --- Compatibility: Rohloff / Nexus