Author Topic: Hebie Steering Damper  (Read 2445 times)

navrig

Hebie Steering Damper
« on: May 18, 2023, 06:21:44 pm »
I'm in the middle of a 4000km tour.  I'm using rear panniers, a rack bag and a bar bag.  I am not that experienced and am finding bike stability when parking and pushing at low speed a pain, especially if I have to move from pushing on one side to the other.

I met some Swiss cyclists and I noticed their bikes had a damper fitted.  I took a photo and Google told me it was one of these

https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/accessories/hebie-steering-stabilizer-for-bipod-stand-usage-hbp4/

If I'd known about stability issues I would have explored this as an option before leaving.  I may still fit something when I get home.

Anyone used one of these and does it work and does it not interfere with steering when riding?

j-ms

Re: Hebie Steering Damper
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2023, 07:42:50 pm »
I have one on my Raven.  Even with full front panniers there is no wheel flop when parked using a kickstand.  No negative effect on steering. 

Andre Jute

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2023, 11:24:25 pm »
I'm in the middle of a 4000km tour.  I'm using rear panniers, a rack bag and a bar bag.  I am not that experienced and am finding bike stability when parking and pushing at low speed a pain, especially if I have to move from pushing on one side to the other.

I met some Swiss cyclists and I noticed their bikes had a damper fitted.  I took a photo and Google told me it was one of these

https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/accessories/hebie-steering-stabilizer-for-bipod-stand-usage-hbp4/

If I'd known about stability issues I would have explored this as an option before leaving.  I may still fit something when I get home.

Anyone used one of these and does it work and does it not interfere with steering when riding?