Author Topic: XTC HEAD BADGE- ADVICE PLEASE  (Read 4602 times)

Penguin

XTC HEAD BADGE- ADVICE PLEASE
« on: January 15, 2016, 04:53:03 pm »
I have recently brought a second hand Thorn XTC that is about 15 years old.  It has been powder coated matt black.  As I hope you can see from the picture the powder coating has covered the head badge.  I would like to get the head badge back to something like its original condition.  Can anybody tell me what it is supposed to look like please?  Or better still, let me have a photo?

This is my first time on the forum - indeed on any forum - so if I am doing it wrong, I apologise.

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
Re: XTC HEAD BADGE- ADVICE PLEASE
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 05:19:11 pm »
This is my first time on the forum - indeed on any forum - so if I am doing it wrong, I apologise.
Welcome! I think you'll like it here, and find helpful answers to your queries forthcoming. You're doing everything right so far.  :)

All congratulations on your purchase of an xTc -- looking forward to seeing photos if it in the Gallery!

As for your head badge, the lettering itself is almost certainly polished stainless steel. Forum member BillC just completed a stunning respray of his xTc and achieved a particularly nice result with his own head badge, which you can see here:
http://thorncyclesforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=11589.0