Author Topic: Bar end shifters vs STI levers  (Read 13428 times)

stuartieboy

Bar end shifters vs STI levers
« on: September 24, 2014, 09:46:54 pm »
Some technical advice required please. I've been riding a Raven for the past 18 months for touring purposes but I'm thinking of a faster bike, like the Audax. However, I've never used STI levers and wondered if bar end shifters would be better for me. So over to you guys : what are the advantages of bar end shifters (apart from £50 cheaper) over STI shifters?
Thanks, Stuartieboy.

Slammin Sammy

Re: Bar end shifters vs STI levers
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2014, 10:11:45 pm »
"Touring purposes" is the key.

Bar end shifters are more robust, and simpler to maintain and repair whilst on tour. They will still work even if the lever is damaged.

jags

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2014, 10:25:36 pm »
Sam is spot on with that comment i use dura ace 9 speed barends on my audax they work great.
but give me  sti any day of the week.the dura ace or ultegra are fantastic and they work perfect.

one click and your there effordless.

jags.

stuartieboy

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2014, 11:01:52 pm »
Thanks guys. Just to be clear, I'm thinking about the Audax for everyday use rather than for touring.

Slammin Sammy

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2014, 11:19:56 pm »
I'd agree with Anto then. and spend the extra to go STI. Bar ends are a bit painful around town. I've got them on my Trek 520, but I've gotten so used to my Nomad (not having to move my hands to shift) that I really notice the inconvenience when I switch bikes.

mickeg

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2014, 11:20:39 pm »
It is personal preference, only you can decide.  If you can borrow a bike with STI shifters, you should try them.