Author Topic: Chain life with rohloff (and a bit of chainglider stuff too)  (Read 14024 times)

ipswichcycler

Chain life with rohloff (and a bit of chainglider stuff too)
« on: August 13, 2014, 10:31:01 pm »
 If after many miles you have used all the ebb movement up and then the chain goes slack and you remove a link and reset the ebb are you increasing sprocket wear? How do you know when you need to buy a new chain?
« Last Edit: August 18, 2014, 06:08:34 pm by ipswichcycler »

JimK

• Interdependent Science
Re: Chain life with rohloff
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 01:42:16 am »
This is a nice puzzle and I expect there are many strategies. I started by switching chains a lot and now I have given up and just ride.

Here is one piece of the puzzle. The chain and sprocket and chain ring seem to need to wear together. A fresh chain on a worn chain ring isn't very happy. Anyway I am still learning but this seems to be one factor in the big equation.

David Simpson

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2014, 02:23:31 am »
I am by no means an expert, but here is my understanding: The EBB takes up the slack between the chainring and the sprocket. However, as the chain wears, the critical problem is the wear in the rollers (is that the correct part?) in each link of the chain. When these parts wear, the links do not seat perfectly in the teeth of the sprocket and chainring, and start riding higher on the teeth. With less bearing surface between the chain and the teeth, the teeth start wearing much more quickly, and take the shape of a shark fin. Eventually the chain will skip over the teeth, and the sprocket, chainring, and chain will all need to be replaced.