Author Topic: Apidura Saddle, Frame & Bar Packs  (Read 7780 times)

Chester

Apidura Saddle, Frame & Bar Packs
« on: August 07, 2014, 09:49:25 pm »
Does anyone have any experience of the Apidura Saddle, Frame & Saddle packs; the packs look interesting and are a different take on conventional saddle, pannier bags and racks for lighter touring.

jags

Re: Apidura Saddle, Frame & Bar Packs
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2014, 10:42:19 pm »
no, and in all honesty i would never use bags like those, couple quality rear panniers is plenty good enough.
but thats just me some folk will love em.
 8)

jags.

Aushiker

• Aushiker: Bicycling and Bushwalking in Western Australia
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 01:43:09 am »
I have no experience with these particular bags but bikepacking is a growing in popularity, particularly amongst mountain bikers.  In this crowd the bags by Revelate Designs seem to be the goto bags.

For a taste of what bikepacking can be about check out this thread at MTBR and for a fun guide on how to pack for a bikpacking, check out this video.

Andrew

jags

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 09:25:45 am »
ahh better off buying a car  ::)
those bage would be a right pain in the arse to not only fit but to get into.
frame bag lets hope there's no cross winds/ bar roll  give me a break useless bit of kit. feed bags  as long as you have tiny hands  to get into them,saddle bag  ah say no more.
needless to say i'm sticking with panniers,
btw the carradice camper saddle bag would probably take all that guys gear,say no more. ::)

geocycle

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2014, 09:31:03 am »
They probably make sense on a mountain bike used on singletrack trails.  You'd need luggage high and out of the way and might not be able to fit conventional racks.  They seem to be order of the day for 'bikepacking' see Cass Gilbert's articles in various blogs and magazines.

julk

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2014, 11:54:07 am »
Jags,