Author Topic: Clipless cycling shoes/pedals for touring: Suggestions?  (Read 37968 times)

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
Clipless cycling shoes/pedals for touring: Suggestions?
« on: July 26, 2013, 12:22:55 am »
Hi All!

I need to tap into your collective advice and wisdom on the matter of clipless shoes and pedals for touring. As a member of the cyclistes anciens I have no experience with these, and need some advice and suggestions to better avoid a mistake.

Here's the deal...

My recent stint pushing the expedition-laden Nomad and trailer 11mi/18km up 13%+ grades in gravel and dirt while wearing my ancient Detto Pietro Article 74 cycling cleats has caused me to rethink a few things.

Nearly all my bikes are equipped with really high-quality road quill pedals that are unlikely to wear out anytime soon. To use them, I must wear my old Detto Pietro racing cleats -- which also happen to be the rare cycling shoe that fits my narrow, flat feet (after padding them out with orthotics and such they still wrinkle some, but the fit is acceptable for riding). I have to have good isolation from the pedal 'cos I broke-down the fat sacs in my feet by riding too much in trainers early on in my cycling career.

Thinking about it, if I used my remaining pairs of Dettos and (no longer available) cleats with the pedals on my other bikes with the very limited walking I would expect, I can probably get another decade out of the lot -- at least. This would be great, 'cos equipping every bike with clipless pedals of similar quality would break the Banque du Danneaux if done all at once.

The plan, then, would be to equip the Nomad with SPD-pedals to match the limited walkability of MTB shoes for touring (as opposed to road racing shoes, which would me back where I am...having to carry spare shoes for limited walking else I damage the shoes/cleats). I'd simply change to my "Nomad shoes" when I wanted to ride it; everything else would stay the same. Yay.