Author Topic: Front Derailleur Problems on Explorer  (Read 4570 times)

Ian Shore

Front Derailleur Problems on Explorer
« on: March 10, 2013, 04:01:51 pm »
Hi,

I am a new to the forum and I am hoping for a little advice concerning my Explorer tandem which I bought second hand late last year. The bike is 10 years old and in good condition having covered around 5000 miles with the previous owner who had it from new. Since I have had it I have replaced cables, brake pads and tyres and given it a basic service and all is well except for one thing! I am unable to correctly adjust the front derailleur and however much I adjust it I have problems changing on to either the large or small chainring. Regardless of whether it is the large or the small chainring it is difficult to change on to it will change on to the middle, but not usually cleanly. I am no expert on gears but have always managed to set them up on my current and previous bikes and have the rear mechanism working perfectly on the Explorer. I have triple-checked my technique but I just seem unable to get the front to change properly-though interestingly it changes properly when in the garage but not out on the road with my wife and I aboard. Roadside meddling does not solve the problem!

The tandem is fitted with Shimano LX changers (which despite cleaning and replacing the cables have a somewhat stiff feel) and a Suntour XC Comp front derailleur and also a Thorn Power Pro 24/36/46T chainset. Searching on the internet the Suntour changer seems to feature on mountain bikes-I am assuming that its use is something to do with it being on a tandem and that this is also the reason why a Shimano LX front changer is not used? Is it possible that the component is simply worn and needs replacing or am I going wrong somewhere? If replacement is advisable could you suggest a suitable (inexpensive) replacement?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen