Author Topic: Tracking a route and updating to website  (Read 4224 times)

ianshearin

Tracking a route and updating to website
« on: November 25, 2012, 11:54:26 am »
Morning all,

I have decided to build a website for my upcoming trip, somewhere to blog and keep family and friends updated rather than using Facebook.

My website skills are fairly basic just self taught from having idle hours but I now want to track my cycle tour and upload it to the website to keep everyone informed where I am.

Has anyone had experience of this and could recommend any systems or methods to use?

I thought it might be a good idea to start researching this now in case I need to buy any hardware such as a specific gps system etc, I can also use the time now to build it and test it before the big day.

Ian
In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away.
'shing xiong'

Andybg

Re: Tracking a route and updating to website
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2012, 12:37:13 pm »
I have used strava for iphone which will upload your route onto maps but as others have pointed out it is very power hungry. There are small gps trackers that will give on ongoing track which people can see which are much lighter / less power hungry and are automated (where as strava just updates when you tell it to.

I thnk Dan is your best bet on this as he has done quite a bit of research into this area

Cheers

Andy

il padrone

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2012, 01:11:43 pm »
Spot Satellite Message Service is probably going to be the simplest way to do it I believe. Haven't used it myself yet.

« Last Edit: November 25, 2012, 01:13:48 pm by il padrone »

ianshearin

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2012, 02:11:50 pm »
Just checked out that Spot system Padrone, its a cool system but not want I want, the annual subscription puts me off straight away.
I dont envisage being out of cellphone range and to be honest dont need real time tracking.