Author Topic: Brake Rub  (Read 4268 times)

allywatt

Brake Rub
« on: March 07, 2012, 12:02:38 pm »
Simple question, but it's causing me a headache...

When I stand up on the pedals, my Nomad brake pads start to rub on the front rims - Andra 30 rims, Smtd Dyno-hub, SD V-brakes.

I have looked at the wheel for a buckle, centered the brakes, checked the wheel bearing for play and can find no fault.  I've never tried this before, but I can press the rim against the brake block with a strong thumb push when the wheel is on the bike - is this normal, and have I missed something obvious?

Just a thought, but could tyre pressure be to blame?

Many thanks.

StuntPilot

• Tour on a Bike
Re: Brake Rub
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 01:17:09 pm »
Hi allywatt

??? If you can move the rim towards the brake pad it sounds like the hub bearings might we loose or worn. Also is the wheel firmly attached to the forks? Are all spokes equally tensioned? Just a few thoughts.

Standing on the pedals may be enough to put additional weight forward to the front wheel to move the wheel to the brake pad if it was the bearings or spokes. I am not an expert but just thinking about the physics of what is happening here.

JimK

• Interdependent Science
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2012, 01:21:34 pm »
That sounds frustrating! I tried pushing sideways on my rim - yeah, it does have some flex, but I would say roughly that my brake pads are about 2mm from the rim and I could move the rim over maybe 0.5mm with a good firm push with my thumb.

Inadequate spoke tension would be one possible cause of excessive lateral compliance.

I hope you figure it out without too much trouble!

BTW, I want to buy myself a good spoke wrench, but I don't know what size nipples I am likely to have on my Thorn-built wheels (Andra 30 rims). Is there a general rule, or just needs a measurement?

revelo

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2012, 09:05:13 pm »