Author Topic: alone or not?  (Read 3235 times)

FLV

alone or not?
« on: April 20, 2010, 11:20:40 am »
Hi, I'm new to this touring stuff.
I've done some short 1,2,3 day mini tours by mountain bike and love the whole travelling by bike thing. I've decided to get to it and do some bigger tours this year. To this end, a thorn Ripio frame is on order!
My biggest question is;
-do most of you guys just go off on your own?
-do you already know people you go with?
-or do you meet up with people off here or elswhere to go places with?

I dont have an issue getting by on my own but wondered what everyone does and whats thought to be the best way

Cheers
FLV

julk

Re: alone or not?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 02:36:15 pm »
FLV,
Welcome to the forum.

I hope you enjoy your new frame once you build it up and go touring.

I tour on my own, with family (sons) and on organised events such as KM Rally.

I enjoy them all.

Solo lets you go where you want at a speed you like, eat and drink when you want, stop when you want etc., but you have to be fully self sufficient as you are on your own so there is no one to look out for you or your gear/bike.

Touring in a small group means that you have to compromise on some things, route, speed, when to stop and basically accept the group concensus. Benefits are company and sharing of some tasks, it can be good to follow the strongest wheel into a headwind or walk up a steep hill to keep the slowest member company.

Big events are nice to join in as you will make and meet friends. There are often support functions available, maybe a luggage van, bike repairs, food provided. The routes may also vary to suit different rider strengths.
Often you will benefit from social functions in the evenings.

My recommendation is try them all and see what you like.
Julian.

da_perama

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2010, 05:16:48 pm »
In Greece, where I live , is not easy to find a group to join, so I tour on my own.