Author Topic: FSA Orbit XLII Headset  (Read 8176 times)

Paulson

• My Blog
FSA Orbit XLII Headset
« on: March 03, 2010, 05:40:24 pm »
Hi all, I'm in the middle of a build of an Audax Mk3 frame and fork project (see gallery).  One question I have relates to the headset supplied with the bike - I rang SJSC today and spoke to a very helpful member of staff, but I'm not 100% sure I've got this right as I've never worked on a sealed bearing headset before.

The kit contains the big bearing (bottom), smaller bearing (top), a little gold ring with a cut in it, the logo's black cap, and a flexible black plastic seal.

The guy I spoke to said

a) at the bottom - big seal on fork, then big bearing, then insert fork tube into head tube, and

b) slot smaller bearing, gold band and then plastic cap.

This I did, and all seems fine - EXCEPT that the flexible seal rin is 'spilling' out of the base of the headset as if it's not meant to be there!  Have I done something wrong (I havent fully tightened everything off yet, as I also want to try some extra spacers under the stem), how and where am I meant to use this little black seal ring?

Any help greatly appreciated!!

mikerr

Re: FSA Orbit XLII Headset
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 07:00:18 pm »
Hi Paul,
If you are having the problem I think you are.
The plastic seal fits into a slot.
Just run your fingernail round the outer edge of the seal and you should feel it locate.
Mike

Paulson

• My Blog
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 07:04:47 pm »
Mike - thanks for the response.  Just so I am clear -

the seal fits into the bottom part of the headset, and you just push it into the seating til it fits?

It's just that it seems to be too large a diameter to fit into the lower bit, which is what made me think I was wrong.

I'll have another go now.

Cheers

stutho

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 07:05:18 pm »
Paulson,