Author Topic: Considering a Sherpa...  (Read 5108 times)

spooley

Considering a Sherpa...
« on: March 23, 2004, 02:11:25 pm »
I spent a little while at SJS Cycles on Saturday and, having gone in with the idea that a Club Tour 700 would be the right bike for me, came away leaning more towards a Sherpa after a good chat with the fellow (sorry, I've forgotten his name!) who showed me around.

I was intending to do lots of web research, but was quite surprised to be unable to find much written about the Sherpa.  Is it particularly new?  Does anyone here have one, and what do you think of it?

I'm a not particularly fit, 6'1", overweight at 18st (114Kg in new money!), 45 year-old chap and I've been cycling again for about 5 years on a Ridgeback Liberty (approx £230 new, 15 speed, Hi-ten frame, 700x35 tyres).  In that time, I've ramped up to doing approx 2500 miles per year, mostly on daily 13 mile round-trip commutes (all weather!) on Wiltshire B-roads but with occasional leisure rides, also on B-roads or along the canal towpath (often based around targetting a pub!).  Oh yes, I also use the bike for weekly short shopping trips, where my purchasing is neatly limited by the capacity of the rear panniers!

The Ridgeback has served me very well, but is getting a bit tired and creaky with all the work I ask it to do and I think my usage justifies spending Thorn-type sums on a 'proper' bike as replacement.  I've also got through a couple of rear wheels (one destroyed by hitting a nasty pot-hole on a steep hill down into Bradford-on-Avon!) so I'd like something more solidly-built in that area in particular.  I'm no great speed merchant, and favour an upright posture so I'm looking at straight handlebars.  Oh yes, I have a Brooks B66 (sprung) saddle which is nicely worn-in now so I'd like to move that to my new bike.

So, I'd be interested to hear any reccommendations on the suitability or otherwise of the Sherpa, particularly from anyone who has used one.