Author Topic: Bruce Gordon Rock n Road  (Read 5960 times)

Ecaz

Bruce Gordon Rock n Road
« on: October 29, 2008, 07:32:40 pm »
http://www.bgcycles.com/rnr.html (Rock'n'Road tour)

Any comments, suggestions?

julk

Re: Bruce Gordon Rock n Road
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2008, 08:22:19 pm »
I admit I am biased, but I prefer the larger range of touring bicycles on offer from Thorn.

The BG offerings look nice, but my Thorn is nicer!

ians

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 01:01:20 pm »
they look very ordinary to me - nothing special.  Or am I missing something?

ians

Ecaz

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2008, 01:07:01 pm »
What about the parts used in construction? I'm not very experienced. Are you pleased with the claimed construction materials? Is it the aethstetics you don't care for?

julk

« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2008, 02:14:56 pm »
There is nothing wrong with what BG has on offer, it is just rather limited in choice for the many and varied types of touring which can be undertaken.

If BG is your local bike shop, then talk to them about your touring and get a bike to suit.

Repeating myself, I prefer the larger variety of touring bikes that Thorn produce. I especially like the guarantee that Thorn provide whereby you can purchase a complete bike and return it after riding if you are not satisfied. The fact that Thorn are confident enough to offer this guarantee shows the high fit for purpose nature of the bikes they produce.

I am delighted with my Thorn expedition touring bike and have no hesitation recommending them.

stutho

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2008, 04:54:02 pm »
One thing I noticed straight away about the BG was that it uses a traditional stem.  While there is nothing wrong with traditional stems there is now far more choice with a modern aheadset.