Author Topic: Best Colour for Touring Panniers?  (Read 11181 times)

hwilson019

Best Colour for Touring Panniers?
« on: September 18, 2008, 07:04:02 pm »
Hey Guys,

Can anyone give me some advice about pannier colour?

Would it be best to go for BRIGHT colours to aid visibility on the road, or do you guys think DARK colours so as not to attract attention to them for when I am not on the road for when I am in dodgier countries and places?

I'd be interested in any seasoned tourers' opinions as I am a rookie!

Thanks!

PH

Re: Best Colour for Touring Panniers?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 07:53:25 pm »
I think in daylight you're going to be seen or not regardless of the colour of your panniers, same at night if you've got decent lights. 
One thing you might consider is the colour inside, it's a lot easier to find stuff if they're light inside.

pdamm

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 09:09:50 am »
I am squarely in the bright colours camp.  Most drivers will see you no matter what colour you and your panniers are but there are always a few inattentive drivers out there.  Anything you can do to make myself more visible to them will increase your chances on the road. 

In cases where there isn’t much room and a car or truck will come close to you, being brighter will make it easier for them to judge just how wide you are and miss you.

I see it as a numbers game.  Out there some somewhere sometime is that unlucky combination of inattentive driver, narrow road, poor visibility and maybe even inattentive rider.  Being brightly coloured is just trying to reduce the odds.