Technical > Lighting and Electronics

Pedal Cell

(1/3) > >>

tt2cycletours:
Hi, has anyone tried using this system? Looks an expensive option as an addition, but I like the idea of leaving the hub dynamo to power the lights, and having another device to handle charging/powering devices.

https://pedalcell.com/

tt2cycletours:
Here is a useful article on these modern rim dynamo systems:

https://www.cyclingabout.com/rim-dynamos-can-now-generate-more-power-than-hub-dynamos/

mickeg:

--- Quote from: tt2cycletours on April 15, 2022, 05:37:30 pm ---Hi, has anyone tried using this system? Looks an expensive option as an addition, but I like the idea of leaving the hub dynamo to power the lights, and having another device to handle charging/powering devices.

https://pedalcell.com/

--- End quote ---

I have no experience with that device.  I assume this question is for bike touring where you do not have access to an outlet (mains) every night.

Bike touring, I rarely use a headlight.  My last bike tour (five weeks long) I did not bother to install a headlight on the bike.  Instead I had one that attached to my handlebar with an elastic that I could plug into a powerbank if I needed a light for an evening ride to the pub or for a tunnel. On that tour I only used my dynohub with a Sinewave Revolution to charge batteries.  Never did need the headlight.

I usually have a AAA powered taillight flashing when touring, occasionally two.

I wrote up a piece on my electrics on that tour where I did not use any dyno powered lights at this link if you are curious:
http://thorncyclesforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=13696.0

I have installed dyno powered lighting on my light touring bike, if I use that bike on a tour the lights will remain installed.  But I expect that the lights would almost always be off while I prioritize battery charging.

martinf:
The Pedal Cell seems to be a good option for charging electrical gadgets, not so good for lighting.