Author Topic: Brakes n tyres  (Read 1832 times)

kevin_allen

Brakes n tyres
« on: July 13, 2022, 08:23:18 pm »
Just wondering how others find their brakes on a nomad. I find it very easy to lock my back wheel (rim brakes). Not blaming anyone but myself, I left a lot of skin on the road the other day, trying to slow down quickly. Ended up in heap very quickly. I had noticed when I first got my Nonad I locked the back wheel very easily. There isn’t  a lot between off and skidding. Wondering if the Schewalbe Hurricanes were a bit slippery? Any suggestions please?
« Last Edit: July 13, 2022, 09:05:49 pm by kevin_allen »

JohnR

Re: Brakes n tyres
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2022, 05:37:02 pm »
What load did you have on the bike when the skidding occurs? The brakes have probably been designed for stopping a heavily-loaded bike and may be fierce when there's less load. A change of brake pad to something less grippy (I'm no expert on this subject and can't make a suggestion) may make a significant difference.

I would note that when you brake a greater proportion of the load is transferred to the front wheel (and even more so when you are going downhill and most likely to need heavy braking). However, this effect will be minimised if you have a couple of loaded panniers on the bag. I've had rear wheel skids with disc brakes when on wet, muddy or loose surfaces but have, so far, managed to catch the skid before the back of the bike tried to overtake the front. I've also been trying to unlearn the training I had when young to minimise use of the front brake due to risk of going over the handlebars because, in reality, the front brake has the greater ability to safely stop the bike because of the load transfer (that said, a front wheel skid is more difficult to control if it happens).