Author Topic: Wheel builder needed  (Read 2673 times)

Janner

Wheel builder needed
« on: August 29, 2020, 09:08:36 am »
Hi everyone.

I am the second owner of a 2005 Thorn Raven with 500/14 speedhub. Rims are worn both front and back although I can probably get just a bit more mileage from the rear as its not as bad as the front. I have ordered a complete new front wheel from SJSCycles so problem solved.
Due to Covid, Thorn are not building wheels at the moment.

I have ordered all the parts for the rear (rim, spokes, flange support rings) so I at least have them ready.
Can anyone recommend an experienced Rohloff wheel builder who could rebuild my rear wheel?

Many thanks

PH

Re: Wheel builder needed
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2020, 11:49:07 am »
Might help to say where you are.
Or Google Rohloff dealers, followed by their reputation, I can think of several I would trust based on those two things even though I have no experience of them.

Tiberius

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2020, 05:33:50 pm »
Worth a try.https://www.keeppedalling.co.uk/

They did a good job of building my Rohloff rear/SON front last year.. I have no idea of their current Covid position.

Janner

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2020, 07:52:03 pm »
Thanks. Forgot to add I am in Cornwall.

PH

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2020, 09:18:12 pm »
Thanks. Forgot to add I am in Cornwall.
Can't think of anywhere that far south, though in Bristol there's Ryan Builds Wheels, who has an excellent reputation, though I don't know of his Rohloff experience.
https://www.ryanbuildswheels.co.uk/custom-hand-built-bicycle-wheels/

leftpoole

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2020, 02:14:42 pm »
Hi everyone.

I am the second owner of a 2005 Thorn Raven with 500/14 speedhub. Rims are worn both front and back although I can probably get just a bit more mileage from the rear as its not as bad as the front. I have ordered a complete new front wheel from SJSCycles so problem solved.
Due to Covid, Thorn are not building wheels at the moment.