Author Topic: Was my second Hand Thorn purchase a good one? or very bad  (Read 3958 times)

gepabu

Was my second Hand Thorn purchase a good one? or very bad
« on: April 27, 2020, 04:59:36 pm »
Hi I am new to Thorn bikes and bikes in general. I recently paid £400 for a mk3 (13) Thorn Audax and having taken it to a cycle shop have been billed £170 for parts and labour. This is for a new crank set, chain and cassette. My question for you good people is, assuming once this is done the bike is otherwise good for a few years, was it a good deal? My second question is the ad for the bike said 'excellent condition' and recent service for 150£. It came to light that the 'service' was just changing the wires and very worn chain and teeth were not looked at. So I bought on the assumption that the Bike would not need anything urgent which hasnt been the case. DO you think this is wrong and I have a claim to money back? Or, because the frame is in excellent condition and this is wear and tear, he's done nothing wrong, especially for the price? Cheers

PH

Re: Was my second Hand Thorn purchase a good one? or very bad
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 06:06:54 pm »