Author Topic: Club Tour unloaded  (Read 5201 times)

BobScarle

Club Tour unloaded
« on: September 15, 2018, 10:24:43 pm »
I am hoping to get to France next year to ride PBP. I would like to ride there and back carrying my camping gear. I recon it would weigh something like 12 - 15 Kg. One option that I am looking at is buying a touring bike frameset and building a new bike around it. I do like the look of the Club Tour and would like to ask owners of this if they have any thoughts on the way it rides when unloaded.

Any opinions?

jags

Re: Club Tour unloaded
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2018, 11:13:42 pm »
audax bike would be better, light fast good climber and can take panniers .
club tour is a touring bike.

anto.

Neil Jones

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2018, 08:27:47 am »
I have no experience of riding a Club Tour but I agree with Anto that an Audax bike with a rear rack would certainly carry your camping gear and would make unloaded rides a lot more fun.

I do remember a forum member having a Club Tour and racking up huge daily milages on it so it can be done. I suppose it would be best to get a bike that will suit your needs after your PBP ride as both bikes are more than adequate for the job. If you can get to Bridgewater and have a test ride of both that would be the best option I think, good luck.

Regards,
Neil

martinf

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2018, 08:37:24 am »
For once I agree with Jags. PBP is one of the hardest Audax events, so I reckon an Audax bike optimised for a good compromise between comfort and speed (high quality 28 mm tyres) would be best. The Thorn Audax will take a rear rack and panniers, but isn't designed for huge loads.