Author Topic: Newbie saying Hello  (Read 4314 times)

jimi84

Re: Newbie saying Hello
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2023, 08:47:33 am »
Hi all, I am new here and getting alot of informative information from here:)

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2023, 03:45:24 pm »
Welcome, Jimi! We look forward to having you here. :)

Best, Dan.

mickeg

« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2023, 08:31:40 pm »
Starting to take shape now... :) Just need some decent weather to motivate me to finish the job!

If you flipped the stem so that it is upside down, that would put more spacers below the stem, fewer above.  The long uncut steerer would not look as long that way.

Photo below is a decade old, I have a 17 degree stem in a horizontal position to look less extreme.  During the past decade I have gotten older and am glad that I did not cut the steerer tube shorter back then, as with age moving the handlebar up higher feels better.

TodmordenLad

« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2023, 08:10:04 pm »
Starting to take shape now... :) Just need some decent weather to motivate me to finish the job!

If you flipped the stem so that it is upside down, that would put more spacers below the stem, fewer above.  The long uncut steerer would not look as long that way.

Photo below is a decade old, I have a 17 degree stem in a horizontal position to look less extreme.  During the past decade I have gotten older and am glad that I did not cut the steerer tube shorter back then, as with age moving the handlebar up higher feels better.
Hello Mickeg,
I'll be cutting down that steerer as soon as Im happy with the overall setup - it looks truly awful!. Bars and saddle are at the same height, which is my preferred set up on my current tourer and on other bikes Ive owned.

TodmordenLad

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2023, 12:04:35 pm »