Author Topic: Anti-theft, GPS thief positioning, owner-recognizing....bottle cage!  (Read 4772 times)

Andre Jute

Not necessarily recommended because I have no experience of the product, but interesting:

Anti-theft, GPS thief positioning, owner-recognizing....bottle cage!
https://www.banggood.com/CYCPLUS-007-Bottle-Cage-GPS-Anti-theft-IPX67-Waterproof-Shockproof-Intelligent-Unlock-Hidden-Design-p-1160427.html

The first year is free, the second year has a subscription payable via the app but it is less than USD5 so I wouldn't worry about it; I presume it is to pay to keep the GPS service alive.

David Simpson

Re: Anti-theft, GPS thief positioning, owner-recognizing....bottle cage!
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 04:52:43 pm »
I am trying to figure out how this device notifies you of its location. It has GPS so that it can determine where it is, but how does it let you know where it is (after the bike is stolen)? It seems that you need to buy a SIM card for this device, and presumably pay a monthly charge to your mobile phone company.

- DaveS

Andre Jute

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2017, 05:54:00 pm »
I am trying to figure out how this device notifies you of its location. It has GPS so that it can determine where it is, but how does it let you know where it is (after the bike is stolen)? It seems that you need to buy a SIM card for this device, and presumably pay a monthly charge to your mobile phone company.

- DaveS

Down the page, read under "About Positioning" that it broadcasts the position of the stolen bike continuously for 30 hours, so you have that long to recover your bike; nearby it is implied that the condition is that the battery must be at least 50% charged.

You don't need to buy a SIM card, you can get one free under various pay-as-you-go schemes, and those are topped up by prepayments, so you don't pay a monthly charge either.

It seems to me the phone card's financial health isn't the limiting factor, but the battery life is.

David Simpson