Author Topic: Too good to be true ??  (Read 21602 times)

dereksheph

Too good to be true ??
« on: April 26, 2017, 09:36:15 pm »
Evening all ! I am planning the Big One this year  - leaving Scotland in July for a round the world trip with my partner on our Nomda Mk IIs. Lots of prep obviously with many ideas, decisions, rethinks, discussions, loads of geeking the interweb and talking to friends old and new. And still no definite route or schedule.... which is how we want it.
So the inevitable bike insurance questions have arisen and much soul searching has ensued. On a suggestion, we contacted TSB bank and asked about their "Bike" insurance and here's the deal.... 12 months renewable from abroad. Theft, loss or damage of bike or attached accesories up to a value of £3500. Anywhere in the world. No lock-specific conditions. No need to be a TSB customer or have an account. I'm a 54year old teacher as is my partner and I live in Elgin, Moray. Total coast for me : £27.30 Linda gets the same deal for free!!
So, both bikes at  £3500 each, for £27.30. This quote is guaranteed for 90 days from today and I got the offer confirmed by email and a paper copy being sent. There's no small print issues that I can se so far.
Thought I'd share this to see if anyone else has seen this/used it or heard anything negative about it? The price really surprised me as I have been looking at way WAY higher prices for similar.
As always, any comments will be much appreciated.
D:)

John Saxby

Re: Too good to be true ??
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2017, 10:51:21 pm »
Good news, Derek!

I have a comparable arrangement with the insurance co-op here in Canada (The Cooperators) with which we have insured our house & car.  My Raven is included on our house insurance, as a specified personal item. The numbers are slightly different, and not as good as yours: CAD71 annually, for an insured value of CAD4500.

£27.30 per bike is a good price to pay for some peace of mind :-)

StuntPilot

• Tour on a Bike