Author Topic: Surly troll custom-built, (advice needed) is it worth it?  (Read 13839 times)

stevenalleyy

Surly troll custom-built, (advice needed) is it worth it?
« on: March 30, 2017, 03:54:12 pm »
Hi, I am buying a touring bike soon and I came across this Surly Troll on eBay linked below. Is the price of this bike worth it for the long term tourer I'm looking for? I want to travel as far as I can (at least six months at a time)

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/BRAND-NEW-CUSTOM-BUILT-SURLY-TROLL-BIKE-LARGE-/122407764716?hash=item1c801242ec%3Ag%3AGuUAAOSwx6pYqGTx

I'm new to cycling and I don't have much knowledge when it comes to bike specs etc. I also don't have a huge stash of cash, would it be appropriate to ask for discount? How much would you ask for?
Thanks for your time, all advice is much appreciated!
Steven

bobs

Re: Surly troll custom-built, (advice needed) is it worth it?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2017, 04:15:03 pm »
First of all the Troll is a very good bike and many people have gone around the world on one. I think that one is a bit overpriced.  But you are getting racks with it and you could convert it to a Rohloff if you wished.
You could contact them direct and if you were from them outwith eBay a discount would be possible as there would be no ebay/paypal fees .

Bob

stevenalleyy

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2017, 04:34:26 pm »
Thanks Bob, those are very good points. On their FB page it was on for 1600 so they have popped the price up a little bit probably to allow for eBay charges and or people asking for discount.

The racks new are 100 each so that is a big plus! If you were looking to buy this specific bike personally how much would you be aiming to spend?

https://www.evanscycles.com/ridgeback-expedition-2017-touring-bike-EV289256

This is an expedition bike more suited to my budget. A ridgeback expedition 2017 which had a good review from a long time tourer.

ThankS for the response 8)

jags

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2017, 04:48:45 pm »