Author Topic: Rohloff advice  (Read 3315 times)

PhilD28

Rohloff advice
« on: February 02, 2017, 06:39:27 pm »
My wife has a Thorn XTC and has a fancy for it to be converted to a Rohloff hub. I am an experienced engineer and have built many bikes over the years so doing most jobs is no problem including building a Rolloff wheel.

I know almost nothing about Rolloff hubs other than they are a 14 speed epicyclic gearbox. Has anyone built one into a frame with standard vertical dropouts using a chain tensioner to take up chain wear and if so are there any long term problems doing this (We do multi month camping tours).

Or, would it be better to bite the bullet and buy another Thorn frame designed for a Rohloff such as an RST and take advantage of the eccentric BB adjuster.

My other question relates to the shifter, she prefers drop bars and specifically the TTT Morphe's she has had for years, will the stock shifter that comes with the hub fit on a drop bar such as that or do I need to rig up something on a mounting bar off the ahead stem.

Finally for you Rohloff riders do you feel they are worth the expense and are they much better than the Alfine.

Any experiences or advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks
Phil

Danneaux

• Administrator
  • reisen statt rasen
Re: Rohloff advice
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 06:47:14 pm »
Hi Phil!

Forum member Rualexander is your man...he did a very professional job converting his Thorn Sherpa, which also has vertical dropouts.

You can find most of his posts on the conversion here:
http://thorncyclesforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=3235.msg14456#msg14456

All good luck on converting your wife's xTc, and all the best,

Dan.

rualexander

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2017, 08:47:36 pm »
As Dan has said, I converted my Sherpa to Rohloff use, and I am very happy with the way it has worked out.