Author Topic: yet another oil change question  (Read 2672 times)

intrasight

yet another oil change question
« on: September 18, 2016, 12:30:39 am »
I changed my oil a couple days before a 100 mile ride. My riding buddy observed and commented on there being a spot of oil that formed on my wheel below the hub every time I stopped for any amount of time. This was my first oil change. Did it myself and had no problems. But I don't know if I should be concerned with this leaking of oil. I assume that they only way to gauge the degree of leakage would be to perform another oil change and carefully measure what comes out. Should I be concerned enough to do so?

TheShipwright

Re: yet another oil change question
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 01:30:34 pm »
I'm new to Rohloffs so not an expert, I pondered this recently when my 2nd hand hub was leaking small amounts of oil.   I spoke to Dave at SJS and he said he wouldn't be overly concerned about oil leaking.
I never went into amounts as my hub needed a service, which was why I was speaking to him.
I suppose long term you just need to make sure the hub doesn't run out oil so maybe increased top ups?

Is it worth completely cleaning the hub externally to establish where the leak is coming from?
In my case 95% of the leakage was caused by the disc flange gasket and I think I remember that someone else on here mentioned that they tightened the torx bits on their disc flange and their leak went away.

Good luck

« Last Edit: September 18, 2016, 02:41:33 pm by TheShipwright »

intrasight

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2016, 03:49:07 pm »
It could certainly benefit from a good cleaning. Thanks for that suggestion.

mickeg

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2016, 05:31:48 pm »
The inaccuracies of draining the oil to measure how much you lost is likely not worth the effort, especially at the price of Rohloff oil.  And if you got a number, you have nothing to compare that number to so would that number actually mean anything?