Author Topic: Will a Schmidt Rear Light connect to my existing SON Dynohub/Edelux setup?  (Read 10770 times)

alcyst

• Apistos Leander
I have a Thorn Mercury with a SON dynohub and Edelux setup, it came with the bike. Would it be easy to add a Schmidt rear light? I'm not very technical.
Any anybody who has one, how bright are they?

il padrone

Re: Will a Schmidt Rear Light connect to my existing SON Dynohub/Edelux setup?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2015, 09:20:09 am »
I was not aware that these even existed. According to Peter White cycles "new for 2014", and they will run with Edelux (of course) as well as B&M and Spanninga headlights, but not Supernova apparently.

Rack-mount

and seat-post mounts.

« Last Edit: September 09, 2015, 09:22:05 am by il padrone »

il padrone

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2015, 09:35:19 am »
I must admit however that when it comes to high visibility from a dynohub system, this light (Hermanns H-track) wins all prizes for me. Brightest dynamo LED tail-light I've seen with a great reflector built-in.

Dave Whittle Thorn Workshop

• Thorn Cycles
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2015, 12:39:56 pm »
Yes they wire to any front dynamo headlight except some Supernova's. See http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/page/find/?name=schmidt%20rear&page=1

alcyst

• Apistos Leander
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2015, 03:42:48 pm »
It is getting to the season where I am digging out my lights out and making sure they still work. Thanks for the replies.

The Hermanns is cheaper and has been out long enough to get good reviews. The Schmidt is small, robust looking, presumably has similar quality to my existing dynamo and front light set-up, and would go directly on the seat-post (there is no rack). A drawback would be that I would be doing the add-on, when someone in the Thorn shop had done a very neat job on the front lamp.

I'll update when I make a decision.