Author Topic: anto's first tandem ride god help me.  (Read 12513 times)

jags

anto's first tandem ride god help me.
« on: June 01, 2015, 01:27:56 pm »
Well looks like i'm gonna be doing my first ever tandem ride with a blind person.
going to meet him today for a chat see if we can work out a plan ,so any tips from you lot would be greatly appreciated  do's and dont's . no smart answers i know what your thinking  ;D ;D
yeah should be interesting as its my first time on one of these bikes (terry Dolan custom ) no idea how the gears work do i need to call out everything  or is it just like a guy sucking your wheel  im used to that in the local group. ;)
anyway wish me luck  hope to do first spin either wed or thurs evening. 8).

nice bit of advice so far from Dan  still no harm in a bit more.

anto.

Donerol

Re: anto's first tandem ride god help me.
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 03:28:16 pm »
Communication is important!!!!

The first time I rode on the back of a tandem, the pilot kicked the pedals round without warning, ready to set off. My pedals turned too and cracked me on the shin - ouch!

Oh, and you need to allow a bit more space for turning, like driving a long lorry. I was once nearly scraped off on a park gatepost.

So I'm thinking, god help your stoker!   :D

jags

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 03:32:53 pm »
just had a good chat with my new cycling buddy  he more or less said the same  swing wide and call out potholes , jazus i could be  shouting at him every 50 yds  HOLE  ;D
whats worrying me is the balance  i reckon if we get right  all should be well.  ;)

fossala

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2015, 04:24:37 pm »
I ride with my Son (kiddyback tandem) and my misses has jumped on the back once or twice. Both people I didn't have to think about balancing at all.

jags

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2015, 04:36:38 pm »
you make it sund easy hope your right. ;)

anto

fossala

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2015, 04:40:07 pm »